Princess Grace Foundation-USA Mission Statement

The Princess Grace Foundation-USA is a non-profit, publicly-supported charity, headquartered in New York City and established 36 years ago by Prince Rainier III of Monaco to honor his wife, Princess Grace’s [Kelly] legacy.



Our mission is dedicated to identifying and assisting emerging talent in theater, dance, and film by awarding grants in the form of scholarships, apprenticeships, and fellowships.



Since its inception, more than 800 recipients have been awarded. Some notable Princess Grace Awards recipients include:



FILM: Emmy Award winner Cary Fukunaga, director of HBO's "True Detective,"Jane Eyre and Netflix's Beasts of No Nation; Jon M. Chu director of Justin Bieber: Never Say Never, Now You See Me 2; Greg Mottola's Superbad and Keeping Up with the Joneses and Stephen Hillenburg, creator of Nickelodeon's most iconic cartoon, "SpongeBob SquarePants."



THEATER: Tony Award winners for Best Direction of a Play, Anna D. Shapiro (August Osage County) and Sam Gold (Fun Home); Tony Award winner for Best Musical Christopher Ashley (Come From Away); Pulitzer and Tony Award-winning playwright Tony Kushner; Tony Award winning actor Leslie Odom, Jr. (Hamilton); Academy Award winner Eric Simonson and Golden Globe Award winner for HBO's "Show Me A Hero," Oscar Isaac.



DANCE: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Artistic Director Robert Battle; American Ballet Theatre’s Gillian Murphy and Isabella Boylston and New York City Ballet’s Tiler Peck; as well as choreographers and MacArthur "Genius" grant winners, Kyle Abraham and Michelle Dorrance.